Tacitus: Germania
Tacitus: The Annals

Tacitus: The Histories

The Histories (Latin: Historiae) is a work by Tacitus, written at around the turn of the first century CE. Although written before The Annals, it covers a later period, in its original form chronicling the Roman Empire from 69 to 96 CE, years which largely coincided with the Flavian dynasty of Vespasian, Titus and Domitian.

Only the first four books and a part of the fifth survive, but their short span of 69-70 CE include the turbulent Year of the Four Emperors, and the rise of Vespasian, whose command in the east occasions a digressive section on the Jewish Revolt, an event chronicled in more detail by Tacitus' contemporary Josephus.

The Histories at Amazon: United States | Canada | United Kingdom | France | Germany | Spain | Italy

Online Texts

Gutenberg: The Histories, translated by William Hamilton Fyfe. Multiple formats.

Internet Classics Archive: The Histories, translated by Alfred John Church and William Jackson Brodribb. HTML and TXT formats.

LacusCurtius: The Annals translated by J. Jackson - The Histories, translated by C.H. Moore. English text of public domain Loeb editions. HTML format.

Loebulus. L111 - Tacitus -- Histories I: Books 1-3. PDF of public domain Loeb edition in Latin and English. Also available from the Internet Archive.

Loebulus. L249 - Tacitus -- Histories II: 4-5. Annals 1-3. PDF of public domain Loeb edition in Latin and English.

The Latin Library: Historiae. Latin text, HTML format.

Poetry in Translation: The Histories, translated by A.S. Kline (2016). Multiple formats.

University of Adelaide (Internet Archive): The Histories,  translated by Alfred John Church and William Jackson Brodribb. EPUB, HTML and MOBI formats.

Wikisource: The Histories, translated by Alfred John Church and William Jackson Brodribb (1876). Online, downloadable as PDF/MOBI/EPUB.

Wikisource: The Histories, translated by William Hamilton Fyfe (1912). Online, downloadable as PDF/MOBI/EPUB.

Other resources

BBC Radio 4 In Our Time: Tacitus and the Decadence of Rome. Melvyn Bragg with Catharine Edwards, Ellen O’Gorman and Maria Wyke.

Librivox: Tacitus' Histories - public domain audiobook.

Livius.org: Tacitus.

London Review of Books: Four Day Caesar, by Mary Beard. Review of Tacitus: Histories I edited by Cynthia Damon.

The Great conversation: further reading at Tom's Learning Notes.

Tacitus: The Annals - Although written later, covers the period preceding the Histories.

Tacitus: The Agricola.

Tacitus: The Germania.

Suetonius: The Lives of the The Twelve Caesars - part of this work covers the same period as the Annals and the Histories.

Cassius Dio: The Roman History.

Josephus: The Jewish War.

Latin Resources: Online materials for learning Latin.


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Your Information

(Name and email address are required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)